The First 30 Seconds are CRUCIAL : Selling Over The Phone : Expert Business Tips

The area that you could improve is in the first 30 seconds of the call.  Remember that almost every person selling anything calls like this:

Hi, __.  My name is ____.  I am from such and such company that does such and such.

So, here are some pointers:

  • Get them saying “yes” early in the conversation.    Ex.  “Is this Sarah Wilson?”  and “ You are the HR woman in charge, right?”
  • Get them laughing.  Ex.  “I didn’t catch you in the middle of 13 things, did I”  or if they are hard to get in touch with “you are harder to get in touch with than the President.”
  • Make it about them, not about you.

Overall the first several statement should sound like this:

“Is this Sarah Wilson? I didn’t catch you in the middle of anything did I?  You probably will not recognize my name, but I was giving you a call because I have been talking with all of the families in your area.  Do you have about 2 minutes? …  Then, go into your normal approach.

 

Leave a Reply

