How Positive Self Talk Can Turn Dreams into Reality

Positive self Talk gives you direction

Does what you say to yourself make a difference?

Does it help you improve or does it discourage you? Does it give you confidence or does it make you self-conscious? Does it make you want to keep going or does it want to make you get back in bed?

What you say when you talk to yourself is one of the most unspoken parts of sales, but one of the most important. It’s what we at Southwestern Consulting call “the power of positive self-talk.”

Learning how to talk to yourself is a really powerful element of building confidence and creating the momentum of living into who you want to be.

Just because you want to be something that you’re not yet, doesn’t mean you can’t start living it today.

You may not be a million dollar sales person today, but that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t say that. You may not be a marathon runner right now, but that doesn’t mean that one day you won’t be.

When we talk about positive self-talk, it’s about talking about yourself present tense into helping you create the vision of who you want to be.

The benefit of positive affirmations can be life changing. It can change your personal life, your work life, your confidence, it can change everything about you.

So here’s what I want you to do: make a list of all the things you want in your life. What are the things that you want to have? What are the things that you want to be and who do you want the world to see you as?

Do you want the world to see you as a loving father/mother? A loyal husband/wife? A hard worker? How do you want to be seen?

Writing positive affirmations allow you to physically see what you want written out giving you something real to look at and work towards.

Long before I was a successful sales person, my affirmations said things like, “I’m a million dollar producer, I’m an author, I’m the top sales person in our company, I was voted as top leader.”

I may not be all those things right now, but I want to be them. So I’m going to talk to myself like it is today.

My husband is a great example of this. He’s such an inspiration to me in this very specific area, because when he puts his dreams on paper, his affirmations, what he believes about himself, it always seems to come true. Not always today and not always tomorrow but eventually everything that he puts on paper, he finds a way to make it happen.

Years ago, my husband wrote down on his affirmations list “I am a New York Times best selling author.” He didn’t have a title, pages, or a topic of what he wanted to write. But he knew that’s what he wanted to be.

Five years ago, I wrote, “I’m a million dollar producer” down on my affirmations list. And I was very far away from being a million dollar producer. In fact, my best year at the time was probably just over $300,000 personal revenue. In 2012 the same year that my husband became a New York Time Best-Selling Author, I sold over a million dollars in sales revenue for our company.

I believed it before it happened. I talked to myself as if it were already true, so when it came true it wasn’t that much of a shock. I’d been preparing myself all along to be the person I wanted to be because I read it to myself, I spoke it out loud every single day.

So, here’s what you need to do right now. You need to write down 10 affirmations of who you want to be, present tense. I am a marathon runner, I am a million dollar producer, I am a loyal and devoted wife, I am in fantastic physical shape, I am the best friend anyone could have.

“I am . . . ” are the statements that you want to use. Present tense, to tell yourself that you are the person that, one day, you want to be.

Leave a Reply

