Finding Your Why

Finding your why

Have you ever thought to yourself, “Why do I do what I do?”

“Why am I in sales? How did I end up here? Why this company? Why this industry? Why this market? Why this job?”

I never thought I was going to end up in sales and if you’re like most sales people, you didn’t either. I didn’t go to school to get a sales degree.

I actually went to school to get an art degree that then turned into advertising, but never in my college education did I think I would end up in sales.

The truth of the matter is that over 80% of all graduating college students’ first job will be in sales and most people don’t get formal training on sales in college and they don’t get it now.

So we enter in to this very unique, and many times highly paid, industry of selling without a lot of experience. Sometimes experience isn’t as important as character and will.

A question that helps define your purpose: Why do you do what you do? What is your compelling “why”?

What I have found that is more important than finding people who have good experience or good training clientele or good references, is finding people who are willing to work hard. When hiring a salesperson for Southwestern Consulting, we are more concerned with someone’s character than we are with their experience.

You could be taught all of the technical knowledge in the world and if you don’t have the motivation and the “why” and the perseverance and the persistence to keep going every single time that you get told, “No,” no technique in the world is going to help you.

I want to pose the question, why? What is your “why”? Maybe this is a question you haven’t asked yourself in a really long time.

Why do you do what you do? Why do you get up and make cold calls? What motivates you? What motivates you to ask for referrals? What is it about you that makes you who you are?

Why? It’s a really important question that you need to ask yourself.

Again, techniques will not help you if you don’t have a compelling “why,” and that’s a vision. That’s a long term perspective. That’s goals, big goals, long-term goals, little goals, short term goals. You need goals. You need perspective.

But most importantly, you need a compelling “why.” You need something that gets you out of the bed in the morning so you don’t hit that snooze button.

That compelling “why” says, “I’m going to do whatever it takes, whatever my manager asks me, whatever my coach asks me. I’m going to do it because my “why” is so big and it’s so important, failing is not an option. I’m going to succeed. It’s just a matter of when.” You have to have a “why.”

What’s your “why”?

Leave a Reply

