3 Things You Need To Stop Doing While Cold Calling

Cold Calling

Cold calling can be tedious and sometimes discouraging. Here are three simple tips to help increase your success rate while cold calling.

  1. Don’t lead with your company name  – Regardless of who answers the phone (the decision maker, receptionist, or their executive assistance) do not lead with, “Hi, this is Amanda Johns Vaden from Southwestern Consulting.” That screams salesperson. You don’t want them screening your call because they feel like you’re about to sell them something. All you need to lead with is your name. So when you call into a company, it’s not, “Hi, this is Amanda Johns Vaden with Southwestern Consulting.” It’s just, “Hi, this is Amanda Johns Vaden. Is Tim in?” That’s it. It’s more personal and you’re more likely to get that person on the phone.
  1. Stop using formalities – You should know the first name of the person you’re trying to reach. Because if you call in and say, “Hi, is Mr. Smith available?” they’re going to know you’re a salesperson, because nobody calls him Mr. Smith. Everyone knows he goes by Bob. So you need to know their first name. And then you need to know if they have a nickname. I’m a great example of that. Formally, in professional settings, most people call me Amanda. However, if you’re really a friend of mine, or a close colleague, or a close client, everyone knows I go by AJ. So if you call me and say, “Hey, AJ.” I’m going to know that you either know me, or someone who knows me very well referred you to me. If you call me by Amanda, I know that there is a degree of separation there. So you want to find those little things out before you start cold calling.
  1. Quit leaving detailed voicemails – It’s not helping you, I promise. In fact, if you’re leaving too many details in voicemails, you’re probably not getting a lot of people calling you back. Because, why would they? You just told them everything they needed to know, in their voicemail. Don’t give them the opportunity to decide yes or no before they ever talk to you. Quit leaving the company name and quit leaving the exact reason of your call. Instead, it should be something simple, such as, “Hey Bob, this is Amanda Johns. My name may or may not ring a bell to you, but I was hoping you could answer a quick question I had. My cell phone number is blank. Give me a call as soon as you get this. Thanks so much.” It’s very simple. I’m sharing just enough information so they have a reason to call me back, but not so much they can make a decision yes or no without talking to me.

These simple yet effective tips will increase the amount of calls you get back as well as increase your success rate. Start implementing them now!

Leave a Reply

